How to allow Participants to transfer to another Person


RunSignUp allows you, as the Race Director, to give existing Participants the ability to transfer their registration to another person. You can chose to allow either Gifted Transfers, or Transfers for a Refund, or both.

In addition to this you can also setup a Kiosk Bib Exchange station that will allow you to easily accept transfers on site from a simple URL.


This feature is found on the Race Dashboard by going to Participants > Participant Management > Bib Exchange.



Once you have Race to Race enabled for you Race, please review the process for participants to initiate Race Transfers on their end as described here so that you can explain it to your registrants: How-To Transfer to Another Runner


If you want to learn how to initiate a Participant Transfer/Bib Exchange from the Race Dashboard, without having the participant do it themselves, please see our guide on Transfer a Registration to Another Person/Bib Exchange.


There are two types of participant to participant transfers:

  1. Gift Transfer
  2. Refund Transfer


Participant Transfers as a Gift


The first type of transfer is a "Gift", where the registrant gives their registration to another user, does not receive a refund, and the recipient is able to register for free.


The Race may charge a processing fee for "Gifting" a registration to another user. If the race does not charge a processing fee, RunSignUp will not have to process a transaction and will therefore not charge a processing fee.


  1. Race "Gift" Processing Fee Paid By Original Registrant

    1. This is an optional fee that can be charged to the original participant when they initiate the transfer.
  2. Race "Gift" Processing Fee Paid By Recipient

    1. This is an optional fee that can be charged to the new participant when they accept the transfer.
  3. When transferring, transfer add-ons from the previous registration.

    1. With Transfers as a Gift you can additionally enable this feature which will automatically transfer any Add Ons purchased by the original participant to the new participant who is accepting the transferred registration.

Participant Transfers for Refund


The second type of transfer is a "Transfer Request", where the registrant offers their registration to another user, and upon that user's paid registration, the original registrant receives a refund.


The race may charge a processing fee for "Transfer Requests". Even if the race does not charge a Transfer Request fee the registrant will still pay a RunSignUp processing fee on their refund and the new registrant will also pay a standard processing fee.


  1. Race "Transfer Request" Processing Fee Paid By Original Registrant

    1. This is an optional fee that can be charged to the original participant when they initiate the transfer.
  2. Race "Transfer Request" Processing Fee Paid By Recipient

    1. This is an optional fee that can be charged to the new participant when they accept the transfer.
  3. Full Refund

    1. By default there is a $1.00 RunSignUp processing fee charged to the original Participant for initiating a Participant Transfer for a Refund. As the Race Director you can select this option to pay this processing fee for your Participants looking to transfer their registration to another person.


Please note that the fees entered above will still apply when this setting is enabled.


Kiosk Participant Transfers


You can also enable kiosk bib exchanges, which can be useful at expos or on race day. The kiosk bib exchange allows your volunteers to search for and initiate a registration transfer quickly without needing participants to go to their E-mail to get the transfer link. 


Volunteers will need to know and enter the kiosk password set below for each transfer. The transfer request will expire 3 hours after the transfer started regardless of the cutoff dates. If you plan to do refunds, be sure that you have enough money in your refund reserve.


  1. Kiosk Password

    1. This is the password that you can set to restrict access to your Participant Transfer Kiosk.
  2. Transfer Fee (Paid by Recipient)

    1. This is an optional fee that can be charged to the new participant when they accept the transfer.


Kiosk Transfer Options


By default, the kiosk transfer options are turned off. Please review the options to see if the following options are needed for your Race. Otherwise, you can ignore the transfer options.



Transfer Options


Cutoff Date (at 11:59pm)

This is a cutoff on initiating new Participant Transfer Requests. By default, participants accepting the transfer must register before any registration cutoffs that you already have set up.


Note: The transfer options are also available for Kiosk Transfer.


Event Settings


If you would like to have different cutoff dates for some of your Events, you can select Use Custom Event Settings to define a different cutoff date for that Event. Otherwise they will use the default cutoff date if Use Overall Settings is selected.